Venice

It’s a water world. A city built through Byzantine, Gothic, Renaissance and Baroque architectures submerges into the water. More than anything else, Venezia is the city of style, grandeur and seem surreal.

From the train station, I started to get lost without a guide map. It was like a maze; on the other hand I was not trying to get out. It was a moment of wow after wow and wow again and again. I entered narrow alleys and always greeted by the amazing architectures, colorful artistic Venezian windows, stylish private boats parked like Mercedez in the neighborhood. The feeling was indescribable, my heart screamed!

The city was exceptionally planned, with public squares, parks filled and spaces filled with amazing basilicas, museums, homes, shops and cute places to sit and wonder, all connected through rainbow-shaped bridges. Beneath were the romantic kisses of lovers on a gondola ride. It was a delight to see water buses and water taxi stops at the red light traffic sign. Their water transportation was also efficient, with ticket inspectors checking passengers’ fare cards. On my way back to the train station from Piazza San Marco, I was charged 59 Euros because I wasn’t aware of tapping in my card at the point machine before the ride.

The maze was about to end when I reached Ponte dell’Academia, a love padlock bridge where one can wonderfully see the Grand Canal, considered to be the most beautiful street in the world. It was the view that brought me to enchanted reality with the most iconic Venice structures: the Santa Maria dela Salutte on the right and Gothic Academy of Fine Arts Venice on the left. I melted right away, dreaming of padlocking my heart and soul on that bridge to forever sight this enchanted view of the city.

Nearly from the bridge were the Piazza San Marco, the top destination and the end tip yet the heart of the city. My heart melted again seeing kids and adults with the pigeons. The whole plaza was surrounded by ancient basilicas, palazzos and everything classy: classical paintings, interiors, and statues, except for the huge mobile advertisement covering one side of the beautiful Palazzo Ducale.

Oh, Venezia, why are you so beautifully enchanting?

DSC_0730_1

DSC_0815_1

DSC_0819

DSC_0822

The waterbus station

DSC_0827

DSC_0834_1

DSC_0744_1

DSC_0745_1

DSC_0757

DSC_0765

DSC_0769_1

Huhuhu that’s me!

DSC_0776

DSC_0778_1

DSC_0783

Such a wonderful plaza less the LG mobile ad

DSC_0785

DSC_0787

DSC_0793

DSC_0794

DSC_0795_1

DSC_0798_1

DSC_0801_1

DSC_0803_1

DSC_0669

DSC_0676

Look at the traffic lights!

DSC_0677_1

Another traffic light (back cover green)

DSC_0688_1

DSC_0695

DSC_0703_1

DSC_0704

DSC_0708_1

DSC_0711_1 Parked boats in the neighborhood

DSC_0720

DSC_0738

DSC_0739

DSC_0656_1

DSC_0725_1

the love padlock bridge

The mouthwatering view of the Grand Canal
DSC_0723

DSC_0727

11 thoughts on “Venice

  1. Nice description and nice picture of the place. I hope I can travel to Venice one day.. Anyway, if ever I will be planning to visit Venice or any of your place that you had traveled, I will message you as a tour guide.

    Like

      1. hehe.. thanks.. by the way Mahaliah nga pala ito.. hehe.. lol.. nice caption of the place.. Goodluck and enjoy to your next travel trip..

        Like

  2. I found Venice a bit too claustrophobic for me. Did you get to either of the two outer island….Murano, where they do the glass blowing, and Burano, the one where they make lace? The Venetian colored glass is very nice.

    I hope you are going to visit Florence. Walk to the top of the Duomo.

    Like

    1. hahaha I didn’t go to the outer islands. i heard about it when i am back home. but i would like to think that it probably the same set up, same view and same wet place hahaha

      Like

Leave a comment