Bologna

Bologna, for me, is one of the best cities in the world.

I had a feeling that I was in a classic fairy tale with flying dragons wanting to save lots of Rafunzels on top of tall towers. I was easily mesmerized by Bologna’s medieval and magical look.

This was medieval Europe at its best. Impressive architecture! “Unbelievable sight, unexplainable feeling.” I haven’t seen such a charming city, with not too many tourists. At first, I just wanted to see my dear friends again, but to my surprised, I extended my stay because I cannot get enough of this old city.

My best friend Lady had been to the Bologna Train Station only; she thought it had nothing to offer. But the moment I went to see the spectacular view from my friend’s place, it was incredible! If only I were a painter, I would love to sit on the roof and just paint the whole day and night. Bologna is Italy’s hidden gem.

Bologna is a tower town. According to my friend Otta, in medieval times, the height of the tower was associated with a family’s power and wealth. I climbed the tallest Asinelli’s Tower, in the heart of the city; it was a test of patience and determination, like trying to climb the Empire State Building in New York using stairs. But the moment I reached the top, all I wanted was to fly and freeze in the air. Overlooking Bologna was incomparable.

My friend’s glamorous mother brought me to the Pinacoteca Nazionale or the National Art Gallery of Bologna. I am not a fan of museums, but in this one, I was alta sociedad appreciating art at its best: the museum and its wall. Its roof was actually part of a collection of huge and incredible works of art. Outside the museum were Christmas lights, giving joyful life to the medieval buildings surrounding the magnificent Piazza Maggiore, the city center. The Piazza is really the right place to walk around—the city hall and other Palazzo; the Gothic San Petronio Basilica, the fifth-largest church in the world (thanks to Google); and the University of Bologna, the oldest Western university in the world (thanks to Google).

Bologna is a college town. The Teatro Anatomico at the University of Bologna is the first-ever classroom for medical students in the world. The old classrooms were like a study room for the kings and queens, and the university library was a masterpiece – its walls, its roof was all part of a journey going back to the medieval time. Pope Innocent IX, Pope Alexander VI and Pope Gregory XV are famous alumni of the University along with Dante Alighieri (memorized his poem in high school) and Nicholaus Copernicus, who formulated that the sun is the center of the Universe.

But nothing will beat the best feeling of walking inside alleys that are full of gelato stores, pizza and coffee houses, specialty shops, and, of course, the loud speaking voices of Italians and their hand gestures. Most of Italy’s signature dishes are from Bologna: pasta, pizza, gelato, tortelli, tagliatelle, and lasagna. Bolognese is the best in Bologna, for obvious reasons.

Bologna, I will name my daughter Bologna (or Felsina, its classical name), but first let me find a wife.

Enjoy Bologna! And welcome to my friends’ lovely and artistic home, with a view that can melt your soul.

DSC_0404_1

DSC_0640_1

DSC_0402

DSC_0455_1

DSC_0452_1Then, let me take you to the streets of Bologna at night
DSC_0614_1

DSC_0615_1

DSC_0617_1

DSC_0622_1

BolognaDSC_0628And during the day

DSC_0531_1

DSC_0530_1

DSC_0529_1

DSC_0526_1

DSC_0525_1

DSC_0555_1

DSC_0533_1

DSC_0425_1

DSC_0436_1

BolognaDSC_0446

BolognaDSC_0433

BolognaDSC_0426

BolognaDSC_0416

BolognaDSC_0415

Now, I will bring you to the top of the tower

DSC_0421_1

DSC_0556_1

DSC_0557_1

DSC_0563_1

DSC_0567_1

DSC_0568_1

BolognaDSC_0564 I was exhausted but relaxed after a while.

Welcome to the oldest university in the world, the University of Bologna

DSC_0527_1

BolognaDSC_0475

Hallway

BolognaDSC_0465

Library

BolognaDSC_0512

DSC_0483_1

A real ancient Egyptian mummy at the University Museum

DSC_0474

Old classroom

DSC_0472_1

DSC_0470_1

The world’s first classroom for medical students

DSC_0524_1

DSC_0523_1

DSC_0522_1

DSC_0521_1

DSC_0501_1

Pasta & Pizza
DSC_0535_1

DSC_0536_1

DSC_0540_1

Sngay and the graceful mother of Alae Luna.

Inside the Museum

DSC_0586_1

DSC_0553_1

DSC_0588_1

20 thoughts on “Bologna

  1. Great photos!

    I see you ate that pizza properly…with a knife and fork. Italy is the only place I’ve been to so far that eats pizza that way. And their pizza is so different with the toppings they use.

    Like

    1. Hi Spencercourt, yea it’s weird to eat pizza with a knife and fork, but it’s the most polite way of eating pizza, for Italians haha but something’s special with their toppings, the taste really is different, not overdecorated with too many toppings, and it’s heavenly delicious.

      Like

Leave a comment